Day 290: Completion and Three Little Words

heart

N and I laid in bed, allowing the quiet desert setting to envelop us. Thankfully, our silly vodka-induced argument had passed. He slowly turned to me. “You know, the reason I get so upset and protective is because I love you so much,” N confessed, words still slightly slurred.

It was the first time that N had ever told me that he loved me. It wasn’t a huge revelation (we had been dating for over a year, after all), but I had never actually heard him utter those words aloud. Now they suddenly hung in the air, suspended.

He continued to speak. “I’ve been wanting to tell you for a while, ever since your birthday trip in Palm Springs.” He paused, as if trying to recall a deeply buried memory. “And it feels really weird not to say it when you leave on the weekends.” 

I thought back to that magical Palm Springs getaway when we were enclosed on our private balcony, fingers intertwined, staring up at the stars. N was right about the weekends too. Every Sunday when it came time to part ways, he’d walk me to my car. Although we’d kiss and embrace, it always felt like something was missing. Like our goodbye was incomplete. Now he peered at me, anticipating my response.

“Did you think I wouldn’t say it back?” I inquired gently.

“No, I knew you would,” he replied. “I was just…scared.” His voice trailed off on the last word, but instinctively I knew what he meant. Those three little words held weight. When it comes to relationships, N is careful. Hesitant even. This admission would signal that the two of us had reached a new, deeper level.

After taking it all in, I finally asked, “Well, are you still scared?”

“No,” he responded confidently. “I love you.”

Without hesitation, the words that had always been there, waiting, fell from my lips.

“I love you, too.”     

newsig

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Day 290: Completion and Three Little Words

  1. I’m so glad to hear things are going so well with you two! I love your blog and now that I’m slowly getting back into mine, I had to catch up on what I missed.

  2. Joyce says:

    Hello there K, I was just looking through my past commenters and came across your name…I thought I’d check on you and see that you wrote an entry that I missed! Alas, it appears that your blog has run its course, and you have embarked on a new phase of your relationship. Best to you, dear!

    • You are such a gem, Joyce. Nick and I are still very happily in love! I haven’t been able to update this blog in ages as I’ve been busy with my new side project (see previous post). Many people were asking about my new venture, so here it is!

      http://musthaveboxes.com

      P.S. – The “About” page has a photo of me and N. 😉

      – K.

      • Joyce says:

        Wow, you have been hard at work! I’ll be following along there. I’m in a rut with my products and I’m ready to get adventurous and try new things.

        What a beautiful couple you are! That might be too much hotness for one pic 😉

  3. Audrey says:

    This is incredibly romantic. *Swoon.*

Comment:

