Day 165: Magical Maine and An Unconventional New Years Eve

snow-stormMaine turned out to be exactly what I’ve always envisioned when I picture a white Christmas. Peering outside, I was mesmerized by the frosty snow-lined roads and towering trees. It was a scene straight from a postcard. N’s parents’ home is gorgeous – the downstairs a maze of antique-filled rooms and the upstairs a compilation of bedrooms with sweeping windows that frame the snowy landscape.

After spending time with his family, I could see how each person helped mold N into the man he is today. He got his love of adventure and his risk-taking nature from his Dad. N’s deep appreciation for thoughtful gestures and nurturing women is a result of his Mom. All of the pieces fell into place, slowly revealing N’s story. My favorite memories from the trip include a tranquil night time hike in the forest where snow rained from the sky like confetti. Playing board games in the library while the glowing fireplace roared in the background. Dining on some of the freshest seafood I’ve ever tasted at one of the town’s oldest restaurants. But best of all, I was able to establish a positive relationship with N’s family, who he cares so much about.

Soon it was December 31 and N and I awoke at 3:30 AM for our trip home. The journey involved an early morning bus ride from Maine to Boston and a two hour flight delay. Knowing we’d be jet lagged, we didn’t make big New Years eve plans for the night. We arrived home with just enough time to shower before dinner at our favorite sushi restaurant – the one where we shared our first real date. Afterward, we laid in bed watching a movie and total exhaustion set in. N leaned over and gave me a kiss as my eyelids fell. The clock struck 9:30 PM. Elsewhere, women were slipping into shiny cocktail dresses and bottles of wine were being uncorked. While the rest of Los Angeles was just beginning their New Years eve celebrations, N and I were already sound asleep.

newsig

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

16 thoughts on “Day 165: Magical Maine and An Unconventional New Years Eve

  1. aurorajoy says:

    Spending New Years eve with someone close to your heart is the best form of celebration in my opinion. πŸ™‚

    AJ

  2. singlerichgirl says:

    Actually sounds like a great NYE! Good food, good company…what else do you need?!

  3. Christian says:

    Extremely lucky, and I hope to share experiences like this with someone I love someday!

  4. Andrew says:

    I’m glad you had such a great trip and to be able to spend time with someone you love. I’m sure 2013 will bring you much more memorable and exciting moments with N.

    Here’s to a great year ahead for you both.

  5. Irish Katie says:

    OMG …. how much more perfect could that have been? The trip sounded JUST wonderful (ok…minus the super delay you mentioned in the previous post) .. the time with N’s family sounded delightful … the NYE sounded …. blissful.

  6. Joyce says:

    I don’t think this showed up in my reader…I had to come searching for it! The trip sounds lovely. The house sounds gorgeous. I’m so glad it went well for you.

Comment:

