Day 152: Late Nights and Visions of Vodka

KetelOneIt’s interesting how your relationship with alcohol evolves as you age. In college, I was a student athlete by day and a wild socialite by night. Vodka was my poison of choice. Back then, we all drank the cheap stuff. No-name brand liquor packaged in flimsy plastic bottles didn’t make us so much as bat an eye. My consumption wasn’t excessive, but with a party-filled schedule, the drinks flowed freely.

As I progressed to post-college life, my nights of partying dwindled dramatically. My focus was now centered on a budding corporate career and a renewed passion for health and fitness. Don’t get me wrong; I still went out on the town now and then and enjoyed an array of cocktails. The difference was that alcohol no longer defined what it meant to have fun. Admittedly, some of my best memories with N involve loose lips, warm bodies and an overindulgence of liquor. But even then, it was the company that made those nights remarkable, not the Ketle sodas.

A group of old college friends arranged a girl’s night out in Hollywood last weekend. We set up camp at a popular nightclub famous for its guest DJs and celebrity sightings. Knowing that I wanted to return home safely to N, I made a conscious decision not to drink that evening. I reconnected with friends, danced the night away and had an amazing time – all without the aid of alcohol. Each time I politely declined a drink offer, I felt infinitely more secure and happy with my pledge of sobriety. When the club closed, my inebriated friends stumbled out, entertaining slurred conversations with questionable men as I returned to N’s warm bed.

While that was an empowering evening, it didn’t make me suddenly turn a corner and want to abstain from drinking altogether. I still enjoy a stiff cocktail at the bar and my weekend dinners wouldn’t be complete without an accompanying glass of wine. But what that experience did reveal was that I’ve grown a great deal since I graduated from college. I’m not the same naive young girl whose small world revolved around late night club hopping and endless bottle service. I realized that during the last four years, my priorities have shifted and I’ve truly come into adulthood. Now that’s something I’ll toast to.

newsig

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 thoughts on “Day 152: Late Nights and Visions of Vodka

  1. aworkingmum says:

    I know exactly what you mean! It’s a bit hard for me to even get out for one drink, but I used to think that when I was out and about, drinking was just a part of it. As I’ve gotten older, I thoroughly enjoy spending time with friends without the alcohol. Lol

    • Glad to hear that you still make it a point to go out. When I was younger I genuinely enjoyed being part of the crowded club scene. Now my preference is sipping a tall glass of wine at a nice lounge where I can actually hear my date speak.

      – K.

  2. Andrew says:

    Alcohol is so over rated…I used to be a social drinker just to keep my friends company, but I never really took to drinking. Once in a while I’ll have a Caesar as a treat, but back in the day my choice was a dirty martini. Drinking also means extra calories, so that’s a double good for you to stay away from it.

    • Andrew – I’m still a social drinker, but I’ve noticed that my consumption is slowly decreasing. Especially since I’ve gotten on my health kick, the extra calories from cocktails just don’t seem worth it. And I definitely don’t miss those hangovers :).

      – K.

  3. Summer says:

    I still don’t know how I drank like I did when I was younger! I often go out and don’t drink, or only have 1 drink the entire night… especially if I’m driving. It’s definitely possible to enjoy yourself and the company of good friends without alcohol. Plus, those empty calories can definitely add up!

  4. singlerichgirl says:

    For me, as I get older, drinking is something to be enjoyed and savored, like a leisurely activity and not solely for the purpose of getting drunk. That being said, I just learned there is such a thing as marshmallow vodka! That, I may have to try!
    Happy New Year!

  5. Dress In Ink says:

    I completely agree with this post! I was always a huge party girl in college, boozing away. Even when I entered the corporate world I drank hard (but less than college). Now that I’ve moved to NC, I drink significantly less– and am much happier. It makes me wonder why I drank before.
    Happy New Year!

  6. pteque says:

    I need your control! I do not go out often, but when I do, I struggle to return home without the hiccups. Teach me, wise one!

Comment:

