Day 142: Small Moments and Holiday Temptation

spinning-workoutThe holiday season is synonymous with sugary desserts and cold weather – both of which encourage a sedentary lifestyle. Against all odds, November and December have been milestone fitness months for me. I’ve adopted an early morning workout routine, my strength has increased, and my body weight has dipped down to a number previously thought to be unattainable.

Today, I pondered how I’ve been able to stay motivated amid the temptation of gooey chocolate chip cookies and couch-filled movie marathons. And the truth is, there’s not one answer I can point to. Similar to transforming your body, miracle solutions just don’t exist. You succeed by slowly changing your habits over time and capturing the little wins. I’m living proof. My motivation doesn’t stem from a singular breakthrough, or even a vision of my ideal appearance. Instead, it’s the small moments along the way that inspire me to remain healthy and focused.

Moments like slipping into my clothes only to discover they’re too lose. Having better deadlift form than most men at the gym. Receiving sweet compliments from N about my well-toned physique. Feeling like a strong, powerful woman after an intense cardio session. Serving as an example (hopefully) to my family who suffers from chronic obesity. Having the discipline to eat clean, but still enjoying the occasional burger and fries. But more than anything, being in control of how the world sees me and – most importantly – how I see myself.

newsig

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Day 142: Small Moments and Holiday Temptation

  1. alexisdeluca says:

    Well said! A gal at the gym today asked how I do it…what she really meant is why. I wish I saw your post earlier. I want on a rant about how form fitting clothes and being strong feels better longer than chocolate, pasta, or wine. Your post….so much more to the point. Thanks 🙂

    • Thanks, Alexis. Fitness is so personal and self-motivated. The small moments definitely help. I agree with everything you said. The endorphin rush from chocolate can’t beat the accomplished feeling of dropping a whole dress size.

      – K.

  2. mllenicolemarie says:

    *Love* this! I actually decided to sign up for a half marathon so I’d have to train this holiday season. When I have a specific goal in mind, it’s much easier for me to remain focused and not take a swift left turn for the cookies or fudge.

    • That’s so awesome that you signed up for a half marathon! I’m not much of a distance runner, but I totally admire people who can accomplish that. Are you doing the race solo or with friends? I’ve found that it can be really motivating to train with a partner or group.

      – K.

      • mllenicolemarie says:

        There’s a big group of us at work. We’re trying to create a team for the race. It should be a lot of fun! I’ve never done a half before. Only 5ks. I’m extremelyyyy nervous. Hopefully we’ll all help each other stay focused.

        • Racing as part of team will help motivate you even more. Don’t be nervous. Just prepare and train propery. Whatever pace you run at, the important thing is that you just cross the finish line. What an accomplished feeling you’ll get from that :).

          – K.

  3. Joyce says:

    Good for you on achieving your fitness goals! I am also proud to have not let the season interfere with my nutrition, although I’m finding it heard to find time to exercise at the moment.

    I think the key can be found in not throwing in the towel during the holidays. When you think about it, it only amounts to a few family meals, a party or two, and occasional cookies circulating through the office. That’s no reason for people to give up on health at the end of the year.

    • Joyce, you hit the nail on the head. A lot of people do throw in the towel during the holiday season. Fitness is all about maintaining consistent, healthy habits. I want to make it clear that I DO enjoy sweet treats and nice dinners with friends – just in moderation.

      – K.

  4. Kate Moss once said: “Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels.”

    That quotes seems to kind of apply to this. But then again, Kate Moss was anorexic, so we probably shouldnt listen to her.

  5. Andrew says:

    Everything in moderation and balance is the key to a successful and well rounded person. Keep up the good work and stay focused on your goals. You can inspire those who you least expect.

  6. Re Kate Moss quote, most skinny girls (and guys) I know including myself eat a lot. Relatively healthy but a lot!:)

Comment:

