Day 140: The Man in Black and a Little Magic

magicI entered the world famous Hollywood Magic Castle looking forward to an evening filled with delicious food, good company and a little magic. My boss’ husband has access to the exclusive members-only club, so my work group was able to host our annual holiday party there. The Magic Castle’s strict dress code requires guests to be dressed to the nines, so tonight was set to be a classy affair.

Upon uttering “open sesame,” a sliding door disguised as an ordinary bookshelf opened to reveal the hidden front room. There, I noticed a few of my colleagues already mingling by the bar with tall glasses of wine in hand. The room’s decor was everything you’d expect from The Magic Castle – fun, fantastic, and completely over the top. There were oil paintings of men in top hats with 3-D eyes that followed you around the room. Colorful floor-to-ceiling circus posters of Harry Houdini were plastered on the walls. A close-up magician sat behind a table, wowing the crowd with clever sleight of hand tricks. After absorbing the grandness of it all, I wandered over to my co-workers to chat before dinner resumed.

That’s when I spotted him.

Passing through the sliding door was a man dressed in all black. I’m not normally one to stare, but as a self-proclaimed fashionista, I couldn’t help but take a moment to admire his garb. He sported a perfectly-tailored black suit with a black dress shirt underneath. His black tie, adorned with a crisp silver tie bar, had subtle texture that weaved together shiny and matte fabrics. And in his chest pocket sat a tiny white pocket square which provided  just enough contrast to make the entire look pop. I continued my conversation, all the while glancing at the man in black out of the corner of my eye. This was supposed to be a business event, but I couldn’t help but be drawn in.

To top it off, the man’s handsome face was as aesthetically pleasing as his outfit. In this eclectic and wondrous room bursting with people, he managed to stand out from the crowd. I suddenly noticed him gaze in my direction and begin to move forward. For a second, I almost looked up and made direct eye contact. My soft cheeks flushed and my heartbeat quickened as I instinctively felt the man’s steps coming toward me. Then without warning, we found ourselves face-to-face, a mere four inches apart. He slowly leaned in and pressed his lips against mine.

“I’m so glad you made it,” I said, as a smile crept across my blushing face.

“Me too,” N replied. “Tonight is going to be fun.”

newsig

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 thoughts on “Day 140: The Man in Black and a Little Magic

  1. A Dog With Fleas says:

    There is nothing more sexy then a man all in black. Love this post!

  2. Hannah Alyse says:

    Ohmygosh, this is fabulous! Its my first post so I didn’t know who N was and the build up was perfection! Sounds like you had QUITE the evening 😉 Can’t wait to hear more…

  3. Von says:

    It’s awesome when a woman can appreciate the subtle details that encompass a well-put-together gentleman. We appreciate it.

  4. Joyce says:

    Nice build-up! He sounds like a hottie.

  5. Fantastic post!

    It’s great to appreciate whom you have and looking at those as if you see them for the first time always helps..

Comment:

