Day 133: Moodiness and the Rain

umbrellaI’ll admit it; Southern Californians are sensitive to cold weather. Once the temperature drops below 65 degrees, we begin to freak out. When the rain comes, all hell breaks loose. Last weekend’s forecast was a dreary prediction of heavy showers. Psychologists have long argued that weather conditions can affect peoples’ moods – and I’m a living testament.

Despite the gloomy weather, N and I decided to make the best of our rainy days. On Friday, I cooked a warm pot of homemade Thai ginger chicken soup. My fragrant slow-cooked concoction featured fresh cilantro, basil, lemongrass, and sliced ginger. The intense flavor packed some much-needed heat to offset the chilly December air. The next evening, we shopped on Abbot Kinney, a Venice street known for its boutique, hipster-inspired stores. N and I squeezed in some happy hour bar hopping too, discovering a hidden gem that serves generous pours. As we tipsily moved from shop to shop, slick puddles formed along the damp sidewalk.

We strolled in the rain to the nearby movie theater to watch “The Life of Pi” on Sunday. The film has dazzling visuals, especially if you love animals. It was a nice change of pace to be enveloped by the grandness of the movie. In truth, I’ve always disliked the cold weather. The early onset of darkness and the seeping rain make me want to stay indoors and hide beneath a thick blanket. I literally count down the days until Spring. But somehow, N makes it all better. I feel warm and energized around him. He inspires me to want to explore and try new things, even though it’s pouring outside. And with weekends like the one we just shared, I barely notice the rain at all.

newsig

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Day 133: Moodiness and the Rain

  1. singlerichgirl says:

    It’s still close to 80 in Phoenix! I’d love a little cold and a little rain!

  2. Joyce says:

    Personally, I love the cold, although when we have a cold snap that lasts for weeks…even I get weary.

    Your Thai chicken soup sounds phenomenal.

    • The one thing I do love about the winter season is the clothes. Gloves, scarves, turtlenecks – yes, please!

      The Thai ginger chicken soup was divine and SO easy to make. Throw all the ingredients into a large pot and simmer away.

      – K.

  3. Irish Katie says:

    omg now I want soup. I want soooouuupppppp. nod nod nods.

    And … I actually like the rain (yes…you can whap me now… I get that reaction a lot when I tell people that lol).

  4. Today was terrible! A whopping 52. I just moved here. I was told winter didn’t come here.

Comment:

