Day 80: N and My Birthday Adventure – Part III

N and I excitedly boarded the Palm Springs aerial tramway whose large windows provided sweeping views of the mountains. We climbed 9,000 feet, passing thick clumps of trees with wayward branches jutting from the side of the rock. Now at the top level viewing deck, the 100 degree temperature had dropped to a crisp 63. Surrounded by packs of tourists in insulated hiking gear, I looked like a total fish out of water. There I stood in the hilly terrain wearing a tank top, tiny jean shorts and six-inch tall wedge heels. After the scenic landscape, I was probably the second most popular sight.

We snapped some memorable photographs and N procured the perfect mountain top snack: a bold cabernet, warm pita bread triangles, garlic and red pepper hummus, and plump kalamata olives. Eating outdoors, we gazed over Palm Springs which now resembled a colorful patchwork quilt. Following the tram ride back down, our next destination was La Quinta Resort, one of the most stunning properties in the area. N booked an amazing Spanish villa-style room that included a roaring fireplace and a private, enclosed balcony. The welcoming environment practically dripped with romance. We decided to take advantage of the warm afternoon and dip into one of the 41 pools on site. I don’t know if it was luck but we ended up in our own pool, completely void of any other hotel guests.

“This is so relaxing,” I crooned, letting my body decompress in the hot tub. I took a generous sip of vodka and studied the palm trees looming overhead. N and I spent the next two hours in the pool, drinking and basking in each other’s company. We discussed everything from our career plans to our relationship journey with a familiar comfort. Giddy and heads abuzz from the liquor, we returned to our villa. I’m surprised we even made it that far without hungrily ripping each other’s clothes off. However, we rewarded ourselves nicely for our good behavior. After an intense physical exchange, N and I collapsed on the bedspread. Wrapped in the warmth of the fluffy comforter and N’s arms, I felt completely tranquil. He then removed himself from beneath the sheets and looked my way.

“Babe, you better get dressed,” he said, smiling. “We have reservations in an hour…”

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Day 80: N and My Birthday Adventure – Part III

  1. You and N have the perfect relationship 🙂 I’m happy for you!

    • Day Today Dating says:

      Thanks! We have tense moments like any other couple, but thankfully they are few and far between. Our communication is strong so we’re able to sort things out pretty quickly.

      – K.

  2. irishkatie says:

    The tram sounded wonderful .. I love the outdoors … but…

    The indoor adventure sounded … errr.. fun too *grins*…

    But … your N just keeps popping out surprises for you…oh my god…that he went though all that…yahhh.

    Sooooooooo…..reservations??? Where?!?!?!?!?!?!?

  3. walldecalhh says:

    soooo nice and beautiful, I want to have a travel!
    white azalea wedding dresses

Comment:

