Day 72: N and My Birthday Adventure – Part I

N forgot my birthday.

Well, sort of. Last Thursday, I received an outpouring of birthday gifts and well-wishes from friends and family. N sent a sweet text message too, but made no plans with me that evening. We had decided to celebrate over the weekend, but I secretly hoped he would do something small on my actual birthday as well. I envisioned a simple gesture just to acknowledge the day. Perhaps I’d return from work to find a bouquet of flowers on my doorstep. Or maybe my doorbell would ring and I’d come face-to-face with N holding a bottle of wine. I was almost giddy imagining the possibilities. The day wore on and I patiently waited for something to happen. Anything.

There I sat on my birthday, watching reality TV shows and eating cold chicken by myself. Deep down, I knew there was nothing else in store for me that night. N casually texted me and my lingering disappointment escaped in the form of a passive aggressive comment. Instantly, he knew what was wrong. I explained that I wasn’t expecting anything grand but I would have loved his company, as no woman wants to sit at home alone on her birthday. It was then that N made a confession; he thought my actual birthday wasn’t until the weekend. It had been marked incorrectly on his calendar all this time. Feeling terrible, N apologized and admitted that once he realized my birthday was today, he should have come over after work to see me.

I told him that I understood and, undoubtedly, knew that he cared for me. And while I felt slightly sad at the lack of acknowledgement, it was an honest mistake and I was really looking forward to our weekend together. In hindsight, I should have just mentioned the actual date of my birthday to N earlier to set him up for success. Instead, my special day felt like a bit of a non-event. I continued spending the rest of the evening in solitude, dining on leftover chicken and watching contestants duke it out on The X Factor. But little did I know, N did have something grand in store for my birthday. Something he’d been planning for over a month, and something that would turn out to be a birthday experience I’d never forget…

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

15 thoughts on “Day 72: N and My Birthday Adventure – Part I

  1. irishkatie says:

    Happy Belated Birthday !!!!

    And I am sorry it was less than a stellar night …though am glad that it sounds like something super happened later. You had better blog about it! (I see you wrote “Part 1” above…so am now…waiting…..waiting …..lol)

  2. Joyce says:

    Happy birthday! I look forward to hearing about what he cooked up for you. I hope it made up for sitting alone on your day. I was just thinking, one of the best birthdays I had in a while was when I turned 40 this year, and that is because I chose to plan it all myself 🙂

    • Joyce – I totally value my alone time and it’s great to hear that you planned a fabulous celebration for yourself. I’m going to post the continuation of my birthday adventure every day, or every other day, so be on the lookout :).

      – K.

  3. singlerichgirl says:

    Happy birthday!

  4. the marionette says:

    Happy belated birthday and thanks once again… for having a story that inspires and makes me believe… ah love. It still exists.

  5. Happy Birthday K and all my best wishes!! This story goes in hand with your Vegas trip post – when you don’t expect the most wonderful unexpected happens!

Comment:

