Day 19: First Dates and The Perfect Dress

What comes to mind when you hear the phrase “first date?” For most people, it conjures up feelings of nervous, excited energy and the anticipation of slow, awkward silences. Perhaps even, the sad acknowledgement of the potential for disappointment. Luckily, I’m a pro on first dates. What’s my secret? Be self-assured, bring the right natural personality traits forward, and wear the perfect dress. That’s right – the perfect dress. When you feel amazing on the outside (the easy part), that can translate inward. I always wear a dress on the first date. Something soft and feminine. Curve-hugging, but not overly sexy. Not too short, but always the right amount of skin exposed –  a rounded shoulder, collar bone, or pair of toned calves.

This week, I’m going on two first dates with men from OKCupid. And believe it or not, both of them meet my semi-ridiculous standards. Tomorrow night, I’m meeting Z over dinner at a swanky restaurant and then I’m sharing a few drinks with L on Friday. I’m especially interested in meeting L, to the point I wish the order of the dates was reversed. My last first date was with N over six months ago, but I’m confident that my ability to charm a complete stranger is still in tact. I’m actually excited to test the dating waters and see what possibilities exist. In fact, I’ve already started to sift through my closet, narrowing down dress options. Should I go with the short, peach-toned knit dress? The off-the-shoulder sweater dress? Or, the pink frilly summer dress? All I know is that whatever dress I end up choosing, I’m going to feel damn good wearing it.

Tagged , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Day 19: First Dates and The Perfect Dress

  1. wildchristy says:

    I say, go with the summer dress and a cute pair of heels. It’s the summer!

    Great blog by the way:)

  2. You will look gorgeous in anything, I’m sure. Go get ’em girl! If all else fails, I know a nice man in Jordan you can say hi to 😀

  3. […] the dating waters was fun, I’m thankful that I no longer have to worry about selecting the perfect dress. And, most of all, I can’t wait to delete my ridiculous OKCupid […]

  4. seafreeze says:

    If that is your real closet, it looks fabulous.

Comment:

